Undercover Lover – Part 6


Saige is determined to enjoy herself at the bar with Brodie and their friends. 

Brodie glanced down at her as they walked to an alcove where some of his buddies were sitting.

“You’re happy all of a sudden.”

“I was remembering how we met. You had a very unique interview technique.”

“I was really trying to get in your pants. You know that, right?”

“I had that figured out, yeah.”

“That subtle, was I?”

“As a train wreck, Brodie.”

“If you hadn’t been with Ben, would I have had a chance?”

She looked over his sun-bronzed, Greek god physique and golden blond, blue eyed body with the appraising eye of a woman on the prowl.

“Oh, no chance at all,” she said sarcastically. “So not my type. I’m not into the completely gorgeous, sexy, super model, stud type. I’m immune to your charms, Malcolm Brodie.” She shook her head, trying to keep her face neutral.

“Damn,” Brodie sighed, easing his muscular body through the tightly grouped chairs. “Cause I’m sure as hell not immune to yours.”

Brodie lost his balance, falling into Saige, nearly knocking her over. Saige was a tall woman, around five ten, but Brodie was six five with the muscles of a body builder. She lost her balance too. Grabbing her around the waist, he kept her from falling. His hands lingered overly long, moving up toward her breasts ever so slightly.

“Sorry,” he said, his eyes fixed on hers. “I tripped.” With a sharp inhalation, he was himself again. “What are you drinking?”

“Surprise me. But no tequila. It makes me vomit.”

“One no vomit cocktail coming up. Hi, guys. Who’s buying?”

“You,” Stan announced as Saige sat next to him on the couch. “Hey, beautiful. What brings you out after dark?”

“Rather not discuss it?”

The men glanced at one another. The girls with them, most of them from the office too, bumped Stan aside and clustered around her.

“Talk,” Bonnie said. She was on Stan’s drafting team.

“Ben and I broke up. Brodie’s helping me drown my sorrows.”

“You broke up with Mr. Amazing?” This sarcastically from Stan. He looked very hopeful.

“Tongue back in your mouth, Sport,” Brodie said as he sat down on the low table between the chairs and couch. “She’s drowning her sorrows with drink, not angry hate sex.”

“Can we at least discuss the angry hate sex part?” Stan asked anxiously.

Saige laughed, taking the drink Brodie offered her. “Maybe some other time,” she conceded. “Do you really want to be the rebound guy?”

“I want to be the kind of guy that gets to see you naked,” he answered honestly. “Down that and come dance with me.”

Saige sipped her drink, enjoying the flavors. Knowing her penchant for fruity drinks, Brodie had picked a Cosmopolitan. It felt good going down and helped her relax. When she was done, she danced with Stan.

“I’m serious about the sex offer,” he said as they danced slowly to Lonely Girl by Pink. “I don’t care, angry, sad, happy, I’m there for you, Saige.”

“Thanks, Stan. I know you make that offer out of the kindness of your little, black heart.”

“You really don’t know, do you?”

She shook her hair out of her face, gazing up at him. Though leaner, he was almost as tall as Brodie.

“Know what?”

“How over half of the men in the office lust after you? How can a girl as pretty and funny as you not see how—insane—I am when I get around you?”

“Me? You’re crazy about me?” That took a moment to sink in. “Stan, I….”

“Ben’s a dumb fuck if he can’t figure out what he’s lost. I swear, I’d break the bastard’s kneecaps if I thought it would get me one inch closer to you.”

He wanted to kiss her, but he held himself back. He knew she was hurting and his offer was partly to help her ease into being single. It was mostly governed by pent up lust that he’d felt for her the moment they’d met. The shadow of Ben loomed over them even now. No, not Ben. That particular shadow was cast by Brodie.

Leave a Reply

