Undercover Lover – Part 10


Unsure how her boss feels about Stan’s advance, Saige is somewhat surprised, but pleased, when Brodie kisses her too. She had no idea both men carried a secret torch.

 Brodie waited until Saige was inside before leaving. Saige wondered how bad his breakup with Amanda had been. He wasn’t like himself at all lately. He hardly ever joked, unless it was to impress a client. He was withdrawn and quiet most of the time, where before he’d always been funny and upbeat. That kiss was the most emotion he’d shown in weeks and she was worried about him.

“Have a good time?” Her mother was sitting up reading in the living room.

“I had a great time. You didn’t have to wait up for me.”

“I know, but I was anxious to hear about your not-date.”

“We had fun. We spent time with some friends from the office, danced and drank. It was great not to be sitting around feeling sorry for myself.”

“Did you kiss him?”

“Once. But it didn’t mean anything.”

“Does he think so too?”

Saige shrugged, flopping down on the couch next to her mother. “He said if I ever really wanted him, I could have him. But we both know we’re not supposed to be together. I’ve got Ben and Brodie’s still looking for his soul mate.”

“You’ve got it all figured out, I see.”

“Not really, but I want to give Ben the chance. Brodie’s a great guy, but don’t worry. It’s not going anywhere.”

“What if you didn’t have Ben?”

“Then I’d be all over him like fleas on a dog. Mom, he’s really incredible. I could fall hard for a man like Brodie.”

“Ben called three times while you were gone.”

“He did?” She tried not to sound too anxious.

“Yes. He demanded to know where you were.”

“And?”

“And I told him I had no idea. Which was true, you didn’t tell me where you were going.”

“True. I didn’t know until we got there.”

“He asked me who you were with.”

“Oh, what did you tell him?”

“Friends from work. He seemed very anxious to know all their names. I didn’t tell him. Let him stew. And don’t you dare talk to him.”

“I’ve already made that promise to three people tonight. I won’t talk to him yet.”

“Keep that in mind, young lady.”

“Yes, ma’am. Goodnight, Mom.”

“Night, honey.”

The next morning, Saige woke with the sun. Not so much because she liked being an early riser, but her room faced east and she had forgotten to shut the upper blinds on the floor

to ceiling windows. Stumbling to the lines, she nearly blinded herself trying to close them while half asleep.

Once they were shut, she went to the bathroom and fell back in bed with a pillow over hear head. She couldn’t go back to sleep no matter how tired she was. Used to rising early, she couldn’t seem to find a comfortable spot in the unfamiliar bed. Instead of fighting it, she got up and got dressed in an overlarge, cable knit sweater and soft, loose fitting slacks.

She fixed a pot of coffee and warmed up a roll her mother had frozen. She took her simple breakfast onto the deck on the roof that overlooked the water. She was still out there an hour later when her phone rang. It was Brodie.

“Hi there,” she answered brightly.

“Not hungover, I hope.”

“Nope. I tried to sleep in but couldn’t. Damn sun.” She giggled happily.

“God, you’re chipper this morning. Are you always this perky before ten o’clock?”

“Unfortunately.”

“Ugh. So I guess you’ve already eaten?”

“Not a lot, just coffee and a roll. Why?”

“I’m inviting you to breakfast. A girl’s got to eat.”

“I’d love to go to breakfast with you. How soon do I need to be ready and what am I supposed to wear?”

He chuckled, rubbing sleep from his eyes. “I’ll be there in thirty minutes and wear something comfortable yet classic. A sweater and slacks is fine.”

She changed her sweater to one that didn’t come down to her knees, wrote her mother a note and was ready when Brodie arrived.

“I left a note for my mom so she won’t worry.”

“Good morning,” he said with a grin as he helped her with the belt. “I’m going to put a GPS on this damn thing one of these days,” he muttered, fumbling with the belt.

He tugged and jerked on the strap, accidentally brushing her breast. Looking terribly embarrassed, he handed her the metal tab so she could fasten it.

“You’re very pretty this morning. Hell, you’re pretty every morning,” he practically moaned. “I wish I had you to wake up to. It wouldn’t suck so bad.”

© 2012 Dellani Oakes

Leave a Reply

