Undercover Lover – Part 14


Saige’s encounter with Romy is a little confusing, but strangely comforting at the same time. Not knowing where else to go, she heads to Kelley’s to see who’s there and runs into Stan. He hasn’t quite given up on the idea of starting a relationship with Saige and she hasn’t quite decided to say no….

 As soon as he was across the street, she pulled into traffic and didn’t look back. She wasn’t far from Kelley’s, so she stopped in for a drink. Several of her office buddies were there to watch the game and socialize. Chris, Danny and Trey sat facing the flatscreen. The girls were in the restroom, so she joined them.

“So, how did it go with Brodie?” Joni asked as soon as she walked in the door.

“He took me home and I went to bed alone.”

“When you could have gone to bed with Brodie? Are you insane?” Joni was incredulous.

“It’s not like that Jo, I told you. Lighten up. So, how did it go with Chris?”

“I’d give him a definite eight and a half.”

“Really? That’s good to know. Why not a perfect nine?”

“He snores if he sleeps on his back.”

“Does he fart in bed?” Tracy asked her.

“No, but he drools.”

“I can deal with drool and snoring. I used to date a guy who farted half the night. I nearly died from lack of oxygen! I ended up sleeping in the living room.”

“Why didn’t you just go home?” Saige asked.

“I didn’t have my car.”

They were back with the men just as the game was starting. Stan walked in a few minutes later, flopping down next to Saige.

“I hate baseball,” he said with a grimace. “I’m just here for the beer.”

Giggling, Saige let him scoot closer and put his arm around her shoulders. It was nice to cozy up him. He wasn’t her boss, he had no expectations other than the obvious, and he wasn’t trying too hard. In fact, he wasn’t trying at all and that made him as close to perfect as she could possibly get.

Still, there was that sinking feeling when she thought about sex with Stan. Not that she was shy about it, she’d had her share of casual relationships. Mostly, she didn’t want to get his hopes up. That was something she’d have to make clear before it got too far. But how?

“I’m gonna go out for a smoke,” he said as he stood up. “Want to come?”

“Yeah. I’m not a big baseball fan either. Now wrestling, all those buff men in tight suits.” She sucked in her breath sharply, licking her lips.

“Oh, got a fetish for tight glutes?”

“No, taut abs and big pecs.”

“As a matter of fact, I have some of each of those,” he said with a perfectly straight face. “See?” He pulled up his shirt.

She giggled as he flexed to demonstrate. When they got to the smoking area on the deck, he didn’t want to smoke. Most people were in watching the game so the smoking area was totally deserted. His hands held her waist, pulling her gently to him as his lips sought hers. They kissed for a few minutes, his hands roaming around her waist, occasionally traveling upward. When he got a bit too friendly, she eased away.

“Sorry,” he mumbled. “I’m sorry. I really can’t keep my hands off you a second longer. Come back to my place with me, Saige.”

“Before we go anywhere, we need to talk about this.”

“Great. This is the talk why you tell me why we can’t have sex and I have to go home and spend quality time in the shower.”

She laughed, patting his chest. “No, this is the talk where I tell you that I really like you a lot, but this relationship would probably never go much of anywhere. I don’t want to use you like that, Stan. You’re a good person. You’re smart and funny, you’ve got a killer body, and I love the way you kiss ….”

“But you’d rather be with Brodie? That’s where this is going, isn’t it?”

“No. That would be an even more destructive relationship than you and me.”
“Why? He’s a player. It seems to me he’s the best one to have a meaningless affair with.”

She shook her head. “It would be too easy for him to fall in love with me. He’s half in love with me already. If I let it progress, knowing it’s not going anywhere, would that be fair?”

“But you’d do that with me?”

She shook her head. “I don’t want to do that to anyone, Stan. I’m trying to explain that this wouldn’t have much of a future.”

“And if I was okay with that?”

“Then it’s got no future at all.”

He closed his eyes, shaking his head slowly as he took his hands off her. “I don’t understand. You don’t want to start something with me or Brodie because you can’t commit to a future because of what? Ben? He’s a turd. He treats you like shit.”

“I know, but….”

“But nothing. You’d turn down a great relationship with another man because you think you’re in love with him. But, and I’m really confused by this part, if I tell you it’s okay to use me for sex, you won’t go to bed with me?”

“I just realized how totally whack that sounds. I’ve just cut every available man out of my life, haven’t I?”

© 2012 Dellani Oakes

Leave a Reply

