Undercover Lover – Part 38

Saige and Suzie settle in for the night, with Trevor to guard them. He and Suzie seem to be hitting it off rather well, so Saige decides to make herself scarce.

“You know, I think I’m going to go to bed,” Saige said, feeling like a fifth wheel. “It’s been a long day and I’m super tired. I doubt I’ll hear a thing all night.”

Suzie laughed as Saige yawned and stretched dramatically. “See? Super sleepy, that’s me.”

“Don’t feel like you have to rush off on my account,” Trevor looked uncomfortable. “I’m on duty. When I’m working, there are no distractions.” He eyed Suzie with deep regret. “But I’m not working tomorrow.” He raised an eyebrow.

“I don’t have to be in until six P.M.,” Suzie grinned. “Oh, Brodie and Saige will be here.”

“No reason for you to stay and be bored,” Saige suggested. “Maybe Trevor could take you to his place?”

“I could do that.” Trevor winked at Saige. “Hell yeah, I could. Oh, there will be different guys on during the day. I’ll confirm their identities. They don’t need to know, you know….” He turned slightly red.

“Thanks, Trev. You’re a peach.” Saige kissed his cheek. “I really am tired. I’m gonna crash, Suzie. Night, both.”

“Night, hon. Sleep well.”

“I’ll try.”

Saige went to her room trying not to let herself get upset. She missed Romy, but that wasn’t the only problem. She hated to admit that she was scared. The day had come at her too quickly for her to think about it. Now that it was quiet and she was alone, she started to tremble.

She collapsed on the bed, sobbing uncontrollably. She felt like throwing up. Her headache pounded, her heart raced. All the happy, perky, upbeat shit she’d been dishing out was all lies. She had never in her life been so afraid. Why did someone want to hurt her? Some random, faceless, nameless entity wanted to use her to send Romy a message. What message? I’m a crazed, psychotic, douchebag?

Life wasn’t supposed to be like this. It was predictable, orderly, neat. Since Friday night nothing was at all controlled. Everything was crazy. She felt like she was on a roller coaster with broken tracks and no brakes. There was a light tapping at the door and Suzie peeped in.

“Are you all right, honey?”

Suzie was at Saige’s side in an instant. Comforting arms held her as she cried. Suzie talked to her like she was a child, holding her and letting her cry. She didn’t rush Saige, didn’t try to get her to stop like the men did.

“You go ahead and cry all you want,” Suzie said softly. “You deserve it, honey. The guys can say what they want about being calm and not getting upset, but you’ve got a right to have as big a fit as you want tonight. Then tomorrow, you put on your big girl panties and face the day with a bazooka.”

“I’m so scared. And I’m worried about everyone else. My mom. What if they try to hurt her?”

Trevor came in quietly, treading softly to the bed. He sat on the floor, facing the bed. His huge form was comforting. Saige felt that nothing could hurt her as long as he was around.

“They aren’t going to bother your mom,” he assured her.

“Why not? What’s to stop them?”

“They figure she’s not that important. Losing you would upset Romy. Something happens to your mom, not going to affect him that much. But they do something like tonight, it makes everyone paranoid. You start thinking ‘what if?’ Scared people panic and make mistakes. They could have killed you tonight, but they didn’t. This shows Romy that they could if they wanted to. It’s supposed to make him so scared that he panics.”

“And he’s not?”

“Not Romy. The man is cold as ice when he’s working.”

Leave a Reply

