Dellani Presents…. Dellani!

That’s right, I’m talking about myself today. Why? For several reasons. For one thing, I’m going to be guest blogging today at Words of Wisdom….from the Scarf Princess today.

Also, look for me at the Goddess Fish Party Pavillion! The other Tirgearr authors and I are talking about our newest books. We’re holding daily drawings and offering our wonderful novels at a fraction of the regular price!

Third, and most important, I’ve got a new book coming out December 4th. That’s right! Tuesday, December 4th, my latest romance, Dulcet, debuts with Tirgearr Publishing.

About Dulcet

Cooper Richards is a reformed bad boy. He took sex, drugs and rock and roll to heart, nearly destroying his life. Six months sober and celibate, he’s even toying with the idea of becoming a priest. As music director for a small Catholic church, with a mostly elderly congregation, he’s living a simple life.

In walks Gloria Sharpe. She’s beautiful, innocent and has an amazing voice. The priest from a neighboring parish sent her over to audition for the cantor job at Cooper’s church. She and Cooper sing a duet together and find an instant connection. But there’s a problem, something that Gloria can’t share with Cooper, something that might keep them apart.

Determined to win her heart, Cooper embarks on a plan to convince Gloria that he’s the man for her. 

Excerpt from Dulcet:

Cooper begs Gloria for the chance to prove to her that he loves her. Dubious, she finally agrees, giving him an ultimatum in the process.

“You have a week. If at the end of that week you haven’t proved to me that we can make this last, I go back to Jacksonville. We don’t see each other again.” And break my heart in a million pieces.

“A week?” His mind worked furiously. How can I prove to her in a week that her love means more to me than my life? How can I show her in seven short days, what we can have together?

He sighed, nodding decisively. “A week. If I do prove to you in one week that we are meant to be together, what do I get?”

“Me. You get me.”

“Clarify.”

“I’ll—um—I’ll go to bed with you.”

“Before marriage?”

“Yes. Because if you can really prove to me that you love me and that our relationship will last, it means we’re getting married.”

“Fair enough.”

“Deal.” She held out her hand to shake his.

Cooper stood, walking slowly around the table. “Oh, no. Something this important is sealed with a kiss,” he stated with finality.

He helped her rise from her chair, pulling her close to him. His hand was warm, his grip firm and determined. She didn’t try to pull away. Instead, she went into his arms, feeling the strength in his embrace. He could hurt her easily, but he didn’t. He never would. If there was one place she was completely safe, it was here.

Gloria waited with anticipation for the inevitable kiss. Cooper could see it in her face. She was expecting a kiss like he’d always given her, sweet, sultry, gentle, carefully gauged not to scare her away. He had something altogether different planned.

Crushing her chest toward his, he held her firmly against him. She tilted her head, mouth and eyes closed. Cooper took her chin in one hand as the other pressed the small of her back, running to the bottom of her spine. An additional squeeze brought her hips closer to his while his lips descended.

He brushed her mouth with his, teasing her lips until she opened them ever so slightly. In a surprise attack he took her mouth boldly, driving his tongue between her astonished lips. She gasped, opening further to him, and he took full advantage of the additional room, possessing her mouth with his own. He had never kissed anyone the way that he kissed her, his mind firmly fixed on the idea that she was his already.

Gloria was stunned. The force of his kiss took her completely by surprise. Not that she was upset, quite the opposite. A fierce energy filled her which she fought to resist. Her mind refused to decode the sensations coherently. Instead, the voice in her mind yelled excitedly, “Oh, my God! What a kiss! No one ever kissed me like this before! If he kisses like this, what else can he do?”

She trembled in his arms, excitement filling her. Warming to the exchange, she matched his intensity. Opening her mouth more widely, she took his tongue deep as she probed his mouth with her own. With a shuddering sigh, they separated. Their kiss continued, playfully nipping at one another’s lips until their laughter forced them to quit. Neither of them could have said what they were laughing about, except possibly the sheer audacity and raw, carnal pleasure they had exchanged.

Gloria was melting inside. Her body was on fire with unfamiliar passions. Cooper awoke desires within her that no other man had ever discovered.

“Tell me you love me,” Cooper said, nibbling at her ear.

“I do. I love you.” She whispered as she did the same.

“Tell me you want me,” he said. His teeth moved to her neck.

“I do, way more than I should.”

He chuckled, the sound deep in his chest. It was the most seductive sound Gloria had ever heard. He continued to laugh, his lips vibrating against her skin. He sucked, licked and nibbled her face, ears and neck, careful to keep his hands and mouth from drifting any lower.

“I need you, Gloria. More than life, I need you.”

“And I need you,” she replied.

“I want to make love to you.”

“No,” she said loudly. “Not yet.”

“I know,” he said, his breath tickling her neck. “Not yet, but soon.”

© 2012 Dellani Oakes

Dulcet will be available from Tirgearr Publishing December 4, 2012

Leave a Reply

