The Next Big Thing – Dulcet

I’m part of the Next Big Thing Blog Hop this week. I was invited by Marta Moran Bishop  who was invited by Richard Weatherby (author of Closed Doors, a Trilogy , to take part in this Blog Hop. The Next Big Thing Blog Hop started on the She Writes website  awhile back and is still going strong.

WHAT IS THE WORKING TITLE OF YOUR BOOK?

My novel is called Dulcet.

WHERE DID THE IDEA COME FROM FOR THE BOOK? That’s a good question. I guess I got to thinking what would make the most unlikely pair of lovers and went from there.

WHAT GENRE DOES YOUR BOOK FALL UNDER?

Dulcet is a contemporary romance.

WHICH ACTORS WOULD YOU CHOOSE TO PLAY YOUR CHARACTERS IN A MOVIE RENDITION?

I see Austin Nichols as Cooper Richards and Zooey Deschanel as Gloria Sharpe.

WHAT IS THE ONE-SENTENCE SYNOPSIS OF YOUR BOOK?

Cooper Richards is a reformed “bad boy” who is trying to prove to Gloria that they are meant to be together.

WILL YOUR BOOK BE SELF-PUBLISHED OR REPRESENTED BY AN AGENCY?

Dulcet was published by Tirgearr Publishing.

HOW LONG DID IT TAKE YOU TO WRITE THE FIRST DRAFT OF YOUR MANUSCRIPT?

Dulcet came fairly quickly. I got the idea and had a completed manuscript in less than two weeks.

WHAT OTHER BOOKS WOULD YOU COMPARE THIS STORY TO WITHIN YOUR GENRE?

I don’t know of any other books like this in the genre.

WHO OR WHAT INSPIRED YOU TO WRITE THIS BOOK?

I don’t remember. I simply got the idea and poof! There it was.

WHAT ELSE ABOUT YOUR BOOK MIGHT PIQUE THE READER’S INTEREST?

Dulcet is a love story between two unlikely people finding one another and falling in love. Despite their obstacles, they rise above them and try to make it work.

There are some steamy love scenes in the book. They aren’t Habañero hot, but they are Jalapeño hot.

Dulcet will be available December 4th from Tirgearr Publishing.

Below is an excerpt from Dulcet.

Gloria is very shy and naive. Raised by nuns, she hasn’t seen a lot of the world. Cooper is a reformed bad boy who has seen more of life in his 25 years than most people see in twice that. Below is a scene where Gloria admits how attracted she was when she saw Cooper without his shirt.

“I apologize,” he said. “I upset you and I’m not sure how.”

“No, Cooper, it was my own fault. I walked in on you and … That’s the closest I’ve been to a naked man. I didn’t notice at first, and then—I overreacted.”

“I don’t ever want to hurt you, Gloria. If I ever do something that offends you or upsets you in any way, please tell me.”

“I told you. It was me. I couldn’t stop staring and I embarrassed myself.”

“If staring is a sin, then I’ll gladly pay any price. I can’t stop staring at you either. Does that make us bad people?” He took a step toward her.

“I suppose not.”

“It’s only a sin if you think it is,” he replied, moving closer.

“Impure thoughts,” she breathed.

“Then I’m gonna go straight to hell,” he said, taking another step. “Because my thoughts are anything but pure when you’re around.”

His lips tingled, wanting to taste hers. He could have told himself no, denied the fact that he wanted to kiss her, but decided to give in.

Gloria’s face tilted automatically toward his, her full lips very slightly parted. Cooper kept it very chaste, no tongue. Brushing her lips with his, he closed his eyes. To his surprise, Gloria opened her lips ever so slightly, taking more of his mouth with hers. Cooper controlled himself, inviting her to take as much as she wanted. To his amazement, she wanted more than he anticipated. Her arms went around his waist, holding him close. She leaned toward him, holding him hungrily.

Cooper took her face in his hands, kissing her carefully. He wanted to ravish her, to possess her mouth, but he maintained his self-control. Gloria shocked him further by biting his lower lip, not hard, but decisively. Suddenly, she pushed away, stepping back from him, nearly colliding with the car.

“Oh, dear God! What am I doing?”

“Enjoying a kiss,” Cooper told her quietly. “It was an amazing kiss. Please don’t make it into something wrong. I don’t think I could stand it.”

“It was,” she agreed. “A really great—great kiss.”

If you are an author and I have tagged you for this Blog Hop, The Next Big Thing, read on. Here’s how it works.


The rules of The Next Big Thing are as follows:

Use this format for your post. Include an introduction to your interview post and a link to the person who tagged you for participation. Answer
the ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress). Include some pictures if possible. Tag at least one and up to five other bloggers by sending them an email and then add their links to the end of the post. Their answers should go up between November 27, 2012 and December 1, 2012. If you are on She Writes, you should put the post up there too. Your blog post should be labeled, The Next Big Thing Blog Hop.

One thought on “The Next Big Thing – Dulcet

  1. Pingback: The Next Big Thing – Dulcet « Dellani's Choice – Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

