Undercover Lover – Part 49

Saige, Romy and his team follow Ben to an abandoned ice rink where she and Ben went for their first date. They find him there with Julia as his prisoner. Saige goes in first, trying to talk calmly to him. 

“I really thought I loved you once, but you changed, Ben. All the tenderness went out of our relationship. A woman needs love and romance to be happy. I wasn’t happy. You got so obsessed with Brodie, you couldn’t even make love to me. What’s the deal? Are you secretly gay? Are you in love with my boss? Were you jealous because you thought I had him and you didn’t?”

“I am not a homosexual, Saige!” Ben took the gun from Julia, pointing it at her chest. “You used to like making love to me. You said I left you breathless.”

“Sex with you was all right,” she said casually, spreading her hands wide. “But you came on all hot and heavy like a thunderstorm, dropped your wad and took off. I was breathless all right, from shock. Come and Go, that’s what we call you.”

“Don’t get any closer, Saige.” He cocked the gun, his hand shaking.

She leaned her head to one side, examining the pistol. “You have to take the safety off for the gun to work,” she said with a helpful smile. “See?”

Ben dropped his eyes to examine the side of the gun. In that split second, Romy jumped him. His spinning kick connected with Ben’s head. The gun flew out of his hand a couple feet from Saige. She dropped to the ground, grabbing it up and held it on him. The men rushed in from the sides, flanking Ben as Romy cuffed his hands behind him. He lifted Ben by his bound wrists, handing him to Harmony.

“Take this bastard son of a motherless whore out of my sight,” he growled.

Ever so gently, he helped his grandmother get up. “You all right, Gran?”

“I’m fine. Bit bruised. Your brothers….”

“They’re all right. Harm and Brent took care of them. They’re at hospital which is where you’re going.”

“I don’t need a doctor.”

“You get stubborn on me, old girl, I’ll put you over my knee! You’re going.”

“You’re such a good boy.” She patted his cheek. “I know all those awful things you said weren’t true.”

“No, ma’am. We made all that lot up to fluster Benji.”

“But you do love her, don’t you?” Julia patted Saige on the cheek.

“Yeah,” he admitted. “I do.”

“Good,” she said, straightening her sweater primly. “I knew you’d get together eventually.”

Laughing quietly, Romy and Saige helped Julia outside. There were cars everywhere, blue lights flashing. Far more than were needed to apprehend Ben.

“What goes on?”

A tall, heavy set, older man with a crew cut walked over. He clapped Romy on the shoulder, beaming proudly.

“Jeff Givens,” he introduced himself to Saige. “Romy, we moved against Pablo,” he said by way of explanation. “With Rimsky on your ass, we couldn’t risk it. We got him cold. Once he found out Rimsky was after you, he panicked, figuring they would come for him next. He was loaded for freaking bear when we got him.” He was so happy, he could hardly contain himself.

“Couldn’t have done it without you, Romy. There’s a commendation in this for you, buddy.”

 

© 2012 Dellani Oakes

One thought on “Undercover Lover – Part 49

  1. Pingback: Undercover Lover – Part 49 « Cereal Authors

Leave a Reply

