It Takes a Thief – Part 28

It Takes a Thief coverAfter their workout, the team decides to fix dinner together. Jason and Taylor have a chat about her relationship with Greg.

Jason laughed as the men filed out of his room. He really enjoyed these rough and ready FBI men. Never having had many friends, he felt himself lucky to have three—four if he counted Taylor. Could he count her? Or did she fall into another category entirely?

He locked the doors to his suite and threw his dirty clothing in the hamper. The water jets hit him from all sides as well as above his head, beating the soreness from his body.

While he bathed, he worked off the sexual tension the only way he could. It wasn’t ideal, but better than nothing. Maybe, if he did it a few hundred times a day, he could control himself and not act like a teenager when Taylor was around. He was careful to keep images of her from his mind, concentrating instead on actresses and super models.

As he dressed, there was a tap at his door. Thinking it was one of the men, he slipped on his boxers and unlocked it.

“It’s open.” He turned away, padding silently to the dresser.

“You decent?” It was Taylor.

“Much as I’m likely to get.”

“I meant are you dressed?”

“Not entirely.”

The door opened and shut with a furtive click as he bent over to put on his jeans. Glancing over his shoulder, he was surprised to see Taylor in a pair of soft, pink yoga pants and a coordinating sweater. No bra, he noticed, and barefoot.

“Feet’ll get cold on the tile downstairs,” he remarked as he zipped his pants.

She stared at him again. He could feel her eyes follow the movements of his body as he pulled on his shirt.

“I think we need to talk about this,” she said quietly, leaning against the door.
“Guys will be here shortly.”

She nodded. “Greg and I never got very far,” she said suddenly. “And before him, not that many men. I was very focused on my career.”

“Taylor, you don’t owe me an explanation.”

“I know. But I want you to know. I’m not a virgin—not exactly, but….”

“Not exactly?” He held up his hand to stop her babbling. “Do I really want to know this?”

She smiled, shaking her head. “Probably not. It’s been a long time for me and I’m not sure I’m ready to make any kind of commitment….”

“Taylor, I….”

She crossed the floor between them in a sudden rush. Her arms were around him, her lips on his. Her kiss had desire and fury burning in it, searing his mouth. Just as suddenly, she stopped.

“I’m sorry! I’m so sorry!”

She ran from the room, nearly knocking Greg over. She headed to her room, slamming the door.

“My advice,” Greg said calmly as he strolled into Jason’s room. “Is to quietly do her, get it out of your system and move on.”

“Jason’s laugh was caustic. “Variety of things wrong with that, mate. Quietly?”

He chuckled. “Get her out of my system and move on? Can you?”

“No. And we never had sex. Not for lack of trying on my part.”

“Why not? Seems to me you’d be well suited.”

Greg shrugged. “Don’t know. Every time we got close, she’d slam on the brakes. Only I don’t think she wants to any more. Got to admit, I’m jealous as hell. But I want her happy. I know I’m not the man to do that. I think you are.”

“Maybe, but do you think we’ve got a chance?”

“Don’t know unless you try. Take it slow. Let her come to you.”

“And if she doesn’t?”

“She will…. Let’s fix dinner.”

Although the agents were dressed casually, they were armed and diligent. More agents patrolled outside and there were now agents in the security office monitoring the screens. All the cameras had been cleared, making Jason happier.

His new friends lined up on the other side of the island, watching Jason expectantly as he checked the refrigerator.

“What’s for supper?” Greg asked for the third time.

“How about spaghetti? It’s quick, easy, goes a long way.”

“Sounds good. Assign us jobs, Chef,” Tim replied.

“Tim, brown the meat.” He handed the older man ground beef. “Greg, open sauce.” He pointed to the bottles neatly arranged on the counter. “Then dump them in the pot. Who can be trusted with a sharp knife?”

Taylor raised her hand.

“Vegetable duty.”

She grinned, taking the chopping board and vegetables he handed her.

“What about me?” Alex asked.

“You’ll put the salad together and help Taylor with veggies.”

“And you?” Greg asked, licking sauce off his thumb.

“I’m going to sit here and watch you lot make a mess in my kitchen.” He winked, settling down on a bar stool. “Actually, I’ll take over once all the prep work is done.”

© Dellani Oakes

To purchase books by Dellani Oakes: Indian Summer, Lone Wolf and The Ninja Tattoo

One thought on “It Takes a Thief – Part 28

  1. Pingback: It Takes a Thief – Part 28 | Cereal Authors

Leave a Reply

