Snowed – Part 5

snowed cover image for blogThe day improves greatly after a short visit with Molly, who has his favorite cookies, and Jessamine, her next door neighbor. Mike sets out to run some errands for the ladies.

Laughing, I kissed her cheek. “I’ll be back soon. Don’t go out yet. The stoop is pretty snowy and who knows if the ice has built up. You let me check and sand it down before you go anywhere, even to get the mail.”

“You’re such a good boy.” She patted my cheek.

“You be sure to tell my mother that, huh? She thinks I’m a mess.”

She pursed her lips, shaking her head. “I’m not gonna say it. I truly am not. It’s not polite to speak ill behind someone’s back.”

“Tell it to her face when she comes to visit next week.” With that, I opened and shut the door without saying goodbye.

“You won’t get out of this conversation like that,” she called after me. “You be careful on the road!”

“I will,” I called back.

I own a four wheel drive Jeep. It’s hell on gas, but great for storms. I even put a plow on sometimes and make a little extra cash clearing parking lots or digging out neighbors’ cars. Since I mostly use my bike to get to my bus, it’s not too bad. I buzzed over to the grocery store, got the things Jesse had on her list, picked up shaving cream and toothpaste for myself, along with coffee and half and half. I tossed in a bag of cinnamon bagels and some cream cheese and a pizza for dinner.

The girl at the cash register used to ride my bus. Her name is Deirdre and she’s maybe 17. She is one hot little number, but my over age dick ain’t goin’ anywhere near that delicious, delectable piece of jailbait. For some reason, she thinks I’m hot. I dunno. I’m not bad, but I’m not Adonis. It’s flattering that a girl her age thinks I’m attractive—but I repeat—jailbait.

“Mr. Mike, hi!” She batted her eyes at me. “I guess I can call you just plain Mike now, huh? Since I graduated and all.”

“Yeah, you can. That’s only for high school graduates. Anyone else, they gotta show respect for Big Mike, yo.” I thumped myself on the chest.

Deidre giggled, tossing her head. Long, wispy black hair flew out of her face. I noticed her eyes were a remarkable shade of emerald green and wondered if they were contacts. I was glad we had a conveyor belt and cash register between us cause I was feeling the lack of a social life right about then. I didn’t want her noticing I was suddenly packing heat, if you catch my drift.

“Having a Halloween party tonight?” She had noticed all the stuff for Jesse.

“My neighbor.”

“Bummer. I was gonna ask for an invite. You and me should party sometime, Mike.”

“Deidre, you’re a gorgeous girl, but I’m way too old for you.”

“What? You’re like twenty-five, right?”

“Two years ago. I just turned twenty-seven.”

“No fooling? You don’t look it. In fact, I should really card you for that wine.” She raised an eyebrow at me.

“Come on, D. You aren’t gonna bust my balls over that. I swear, I’m of age.”

“I gotta card you, Mike. I could lose my job if I don’t. You don’t want that to happen, do you?”

“I couldn’t sleep at night if I was responsible.”

I pulled out my license and showed it to her. She studied it a moment or two longer than I thought necessary, then handed it back to me.

“You’re still totally gorgeous,” she said very softly. “And I’m not quite as young as I look. I got held back a year and I have a late December birthday. I’ll be twenty soon. Will you go out with me then?”

I smiled, taking my license back. “You never know, D. Course, I’ll have to card you.” I gave some extra emphasis on that, giving it a little bit of a subtle sexual twist.

She grabbed a little balloon from the side of the cash register, dropped some cash in the drawer and handed it to me.

“Happy birthday, Mike. I hope you have a great day.”

“Thanks, Deidre. You too.”

“Oh, I intend to. See ya.”

I walked out of the store, feeling the eyes of all her co-workers on me. Was it my imagination, or were they all chattering about me as I left? I couldn’t tell for sure, but my neck and ears were burning and I felt like I had molten lava in my pants. I was glad I had on a long jacket, cause I was sporting the boner from hell. I headed to the Jeep in a frigid wind. One good thing, the cold and snow took care of the red hot party in my pants. Nothing like 40 below wind chill to shrink a dick.

© Dellani Oakes 2014

To Buy Dellani’s Books

amazon page for books

3 thoughts on “Snowed – Part 5

  1. Pingback: Snowed – Part 5 | Cereal Authors

Leave a Reply

