Snowed – Part 16

snowed cover image for blogFrom famine to feast, Mike can’t believe the action he’s getting. First, Mystery Date, then Deidre’s seduction attempt and now Simone. For a man who hadn’t been with a woman for weeks, he’s suddenly got more than he bargained for. Luckily, Simone isn’t angry with him, for which he is very grateful.

Unlike her predecessor, Simone was there when I woke up. I was happy to express my enthusiasm a few more times before she had to go. I felt bad about not having any food for her, but she didn’t mind. I’d have loved for her to spend the day, but she couldn’t stay. I hope I made it clear that she was welcome to visit anytime she wanted. I think, judging by her enthusiastic vocalizations, that I did.

After a long goodbye, I made myself a pot of coffee and ate a piece of leftover birthday cake. I knew I needed groceries, but after last night, I wasn’t sure I could look Deidre in the face. I’d have to stop at another store and stock up. I’d just gotten paid, so I was feeling pretty flush. It was a good feeling.

I relaxed and bummed around home most of the day, picking up some when I felt like it. If I was going to have company next week, I needed to clean. I hoped my mother intended to stay at a motel, because I didn’t really have room for three people. My place is a cozy two bedroom, with a bath and a half. It’s not equipped to accommodate four adults, unless one of them shared with me. I ain’t sharing with Ma and I sure as hell didn’t want to spend that kind of quality time with Chester. Maybe his daughter wouldn’t mind, but that would be pretty tacky of me, so I put that thought aside.

As I cleaned, I wondered why my mother was coming to visit and why she was bringing the daughter. Ma’s excuse that she needed a good man did not ring true. In fact, much of my mother’s narrative didn’t really hold water. Was this a serious relationship? Did she intend to marry the kosher dentist? Was the daughter coming to meet me or as protection against the dad so he didn’t get fresh? None of this made any sense to me.

You know how sometimes you can get inside a person’s head and understand that makes them tick? What motivates them to do what they do? With my ma, no one can do this. It’s next to impossible to know what the woman is thinking one moment to the next. She’s a puzzler, a conundrum. Just when you think you’ve figured her out, she changes. I was still puzzling it out when my phone rang. Distracted, I picked up.

“Yeah?”

“Michael? Is this Michael Reuben?” The man’s voice wasn’t familiar.

“Yeah. Who’s this?”

“Chester Mayer. I’m a friend of your mother’s.”

“Oh, yeah, the dentist. What can I do for you, Chet?”

“Chester.”

“Whatever.” I waited. “Well?”

“Sorry. . . . I need directions on how to find your place in town. I can get to Cheyenne no problem, but I don’t know where to find you.”

I gave him simple, easy to follow directions. My place is pretty straightforward.

“The directions I’m giving, they’ll be a little longer than what you’d get with a GPS. But it’s more direct.”

“That’s fine, son. Not a problem.”

“Look, Chester, let’s get one thing straight right off, okay? I’m not your son. My dad was Walter Reuben and he was a nice Jewish man who died too young. Me, I’m not so nice. I wanna know what’s up, Chester. Why is my mother making this trip? She hates going anywhere.”

“That’s something your mother will have to talk to you about, Michael. She feels this trip is important. And I didn’t mean to presume. It’s merely a term of endearment. Marjorie speaks of you so often, I feel as if I know you.”

“Yeah. Okay then. So long as we understand one another.”

“I figure we’ll break it up into two days about fourteen hours each. . . .”

“You’re gonna be in a car with Ma for fourteen hours? Are you nuts? She’ll wear you down, man. If you’re smart, you’ll break it into three days and pray she sleeps ninety percent of the time. Ma is not a good traveler.”

There was a short pause. I could hear him fidgeting around.

“You’ve made road trips with her?”

“More than I can count and a whole lot more than I care to remember.”

There was a prolonged pause. I thought maybe Chester had lost connection.

“Hello? Chester?”

“I’m here. I’m thinking we should break it into four days, maybe?”

“Four would be better. If you can, pick up some Xanax and use it.”

“On your mother?”

“No, man. That shit’s for you.”

© Dellani Oakes 2014

To Buy Dellani’s Books

One thought on “Snowed – Part 16

  1. Pingback: Snowed – Part 16 | Cereal Authors

Leave a Reply

