Snowed – Part 22

snowed cover image for blogThere is a distinct warming trend by evening. Mike knows he’ll be working tomorrow. In the meantime, he has his mother’s impending visit to prepare for.

When I got back to my place, I had a note tacked to my door. One thing I do to help with rent is work as part time maintenance man/ super. If I can’t handle a problem, I’ve got a number to call and they send somebody over to fix it. Shelly, one of the girls on the other side of the pool was having trouble with her garbage disposal. Been there, done that a few times. I grabbed my tool kit and headed over.

Her place smelled great. She’d been baking fresh pumpkin pies and cookies. After I fixed her sink, which was clogged with pumpkin strings, I sat down to a feast of pumpkin products. She’s in a culinary collage learning to be a chef. I sat there appreciating her food. It was delicious. She’d even made pumpkin soup! All from scratch. I was more than a little impressed. I tried to hide a burp, but it came out anyway. She grinned.

“I’m glad you liked it,” she said with a smirk, flashing me a quirky smile.

I knew I was probably in trouble. Or at least I was there for more than a clogged sink and pumpkin pie.

“So,” Shelly said softly. “I saw you on Facebook.”

“Me? Must be someone else.”

She shook her head. Her hair is long, blonde, silky and she’s built like a Nordic goddess. From what I can tell, it’s all Shelly. Then again, even if it’s fake, it looks, feels and tastes real, right? Not like I knew for sure. Me and Shelly never got together, but I had a feeling I was about to find out.

“It’s you. You think I don’t know my own buff neighbor? Do you know how many of us want in your pants, Mike?”

I know I blushed. I could feel the heat from my neck up.

“Shell. . . .”

“No. Don’t you dare say a word more. Because anything you say after this point is going to break my heart and smash my hopes and I won’t have that!” She looked ready to cry. “I’ve always had this little crush. Ever since you helped me move in and rescued my cat from the neighbor’s dog. You totally saved her life.”

She had a cat. A white Persian cat. In point of fact, the cat in the picture on Facebook. Oy vay, I was in trouble!

“I loved the picture you sent me. Did you like the one I sent you?”

“Oh, yeah,” I admitted. It was one of the more explicit ones, but didn’t show her face, if you get my drift.

I could feel my body warming at the memory and wanted to shoot myself. I had to live near this woman. A. Couldn’t have her getting all possessive. B. Didn’t want to even think what it would be like if things didn’t work out. C. Didn’t even bear thinking about.

“Mike, after I saw you with that woman at the party, I’ve had you on my mind. . . .”

“Did you know her?” I asked too abruptly.

Shelly blinked, trying to switch gears from seductress to conversationalist. “You didn’t?”

“I don’t remember her name. I thought maybe you knew her.”

“You didn’t even know her?” She was pissed at me now.

“Not so well,” I admitted. “Not that I’m proud of it, Shell. It’d been awhile for me and she kind of flung herself at me. What am I, a monk? I’m gonna say no?”

Her eyes softened and she moved closer to me. “No. You’re too damn sexy to be a monk. And you don’t have to say no to me either, Mike. Not if you don’t want to.”

To be honest, I didn’t want to. Shelly is a beautiful woman who is pretty damn hot and spicy. She’s smart, she can cook. . . . A guy could do a lot worse, but not any better than the gorgeous gal next to me, her lips about three inches away. Feeling kind of like a man slut, for about a second, I leaned over and met her.

Now, without going into any intimate details, let me emphasize that I normally don’t do this. Mostly it’s me and one woman exclusively for a few months. Then we break up, I go dry for awhile, then I get another woman. I sometimes have a bootie call with an old girlfriend. But this bit of three different women in a week, it was totally unlike me. I’m not sure why I was suddenly the flavor of the day, but I wasn’t gonna say no. For one, not gonna hurt the feelings of a beautiful woman if I can at all avoid it. For another, not gonna alienate a great cook who was also a beautiful woman. . . . Fuck it, you get the idea.

I spent the rest of the day with Shelly. Around 7:00, she fed me again. We went back to bed for a couple hours. Since we both had to get up early, she decided I’d better go home.

“Or neither of us is gonna we worth a damn in the morning,” she told me all soft eyed and full lipped.

© Dellani Oakes 2014

To Buy Dellani’s Books

One thought on “Snowed – Part 22

  1. Pingback: Snowed – Part 22 | Cereal Authors

Leave a Reply

