Snowed – Part 47

snowed cover image for blogMike finds it hard to believe that Sarena’s ex-husband was stupid enough to leave her. The more he gets to know her, the more he admires her. Chester arrives a short time later, remarking about the paintball decoration on the wall.

“Yeah. I guess they thought the place was too plain. I should maybe hang lights and put up ghosts made from sheets, huh?”

He waved it away. “Why bother? Pointless. Did you hear? The weather is supposed to get bad again. The kids have maybe a three hour window, so expect a lot of traffic.”

The doorbell rang. He trotted over and handed out candy for me. I had a glass of wine for him when he got back.

“Three ghosts, a vampire and two zombies. Sarena and I like to take a count. It makes for a fun time.”

Two hours, fifteen vampires, twenty zombies, an ax murder and his victim later, the lineup of tricksters had tapered off. It was getting dark and the temperature dropped fast. Jesse, Steve and Angie went back to Molly’s place to relax and unwind. Ma and Chester stayed awhile, but decided not to chance the weather, and headed back to the motel. That left me and Sarena alone. Bliss!

We cleared up after dinner, putting the food carefully away. Afterwards, we snuggled up on the couch to talk and watch a movie. It was a little early to go to bed, but I was sure leaning that way. I could tell she wanted to talk, so I let her lead.

“Tell me more about Mystery Date.”

“What’s to know? Until I met you, it was the best night of sex I’d ever had. Why?” I leaned in to kiss her, but she moved her head. My lips brushed her ear.

“Was she someone you know?”

“I told you already, I don’t remember. Hence—Mystery Date?”

“That picture,” she pointed to Molly’s camera which was on the coffee table.

I knew I hadn’t left it there. She must have moved it.

“Yeah?”

“That was her?”

“The brunette.”

“She’s pretty.”

“What you can see of her,” I said carefully.

Sarena’s face clouded.

“She was pretty,” I said gently. “But you’re beautiful. And I didn’t even know you then. We hadn’t even spoken on the phone.” I wanted her to know I wasn’t what my mother called me. I wasn’t like my father. That was very important for her to know.

“Do you think she’s the one who did the paint?”

“Maybe. Who knows?”

“Could she know about me? About us?”

I shrugged, not really wanting to talk anymore. She was beautiful and smelled so good. I remembered the way her body felt around mine. I’d been a good boy all day, but that was fading fast as the evening drew on.

“Why does it matter?”

“Because, if she has feelings for you, and you dumped her. She might be angry, that’s all.”

“I didn’t dump anyone. One night of sex doesn’t mean we had a relationship.”

“You don’t know how some women think. Some women, in their minds, that makes you theirs. You belong to her, and her to you.”

“You’re starting to worry me, Sarena.”

“Men get possessive too. There’s that whole I had her first thing. You know that’s true.”

“If I agree with you, can we drop this subject? Cause I don’t really want to talk anymore.”

She tossed her hair over her shoulder. “I don’t either.”

“Then shut up and kiss me, woman. Cause you’re mine.” I teased her with my lips.

© Dellani Oakes 2014

To Buy Dellani’s Books 

Leave a Reply

