Something New – Part 3

something new coverStill not used to fame, though he’s been on the show a year, Austin has moments of doubt—especially when he hears some of the women talking about him. One of them makes a comment about him being petty and vain, which leads him to question his behavior.

Dwight put his hands on Austin’s shoulders. He was a tall man, slender with light brown hair and twinkling blue eyes. “Sweetie, it’s not you. The network dweebs have no idea what sort of partner to give a time traveling guy like you. Some of them want to make it into an inter-galactic sex romp. Others, who have more taste, are striving to prevent that. Thus far, however, you’ve consumed more alien pussy than Captain Kirk.”

Austin chuckled. “How I wish I had the same luck as my character.”

“You do okay.”

“I do awful.” He leaned close, whispering. “Do you know how long it’s been since I—” He stopped, embarrassed.

“Rocked your trailer?”

Austin nodded, shoving his hands in his pockets. “That.”

“I’m gonna guess a month.”

“Worse. Five miserable weeks. How can you tell?”

“Because you’re not quite hurting yet, but you’re anxious. Believe me, Uncle Dwight knows and sees all.”

“Then maybe Uncle Dwight could find me a nice girl—but not too nice.”

“The new companion is super hot and seems all right. Maybe you’ll hit it off. Go introduce yourself.”

A goffer whistled, beckoning them to the door.

“Time to go.” Dwight fixed a strand of errant hair, straightened the bow tie and dusted Austin’s shoulders. “Go be magic.” He air kissed Austin’s cheeks.

Chuckling, Austin shuffled off. His character was called The Magician. He didn’t do magic, but his abilities seemed almost magical to the more primitive people, humans, he encountered.

“Grab your script,” the director called to him.

“Got it.” Austin tapped his temple.

The director, who was new, didn’t believe him, so he grabbed his script for a read through. The young lady opposite him was lovely. She had lush red lips, big brown eyes and walnut colored hair. She was also the one who had made the snide remark about him.

“Austin Templeton,” he said, extending his hand. “But I expect you know that.” He flashed his most charming smile.

“Liat Fogleberg,” she replied, giving him a wan smile. “But I don’t expect you’ve heard a thing about me.”

“No, but they don’t tell me anything and I don’t get introduced unless I do it myself. I did hear you’re slated for three episodes.”

“Unless you don’t like me.”

“I’m not the one who makes that decision.”

She frowned, lips pursed and brows furrowed. “You don’t? But—”

“Places!” the assistant director bellowed. “Run through for blocking.”

The next hour was spent on running through the scene. They took a short break before shooting a few takes. Austin wandered over to the food table. He hadn’t had any breakfast because he’d gotten up late. His stomach growled as he perused the table.

“Get you something special?” Naomi, the caterer’s assistant asked.

“You know what I like, love,” he replied, winking at the young woman.

“I do indeed!” She took out a platter of scones full of blueberries, and handed them to him. “Fresh out of the oven. Hold that a moment, I’ll get butter.” She got a plate and butter. Splitting several scones, she placed them on the plate and took the platter, handing him the plate.

“Oh, heaven! I wish I could take you home with me. I’m a miserable cook.”

She giggled. “Not sure that my husband, the caterer, would like that.”

“I know he wouldn’t and he’d poison my scones. Pity.” He thanked her and wandered over to personal his chair.

Dwight brought him more tea, snagged a scone and sat on a nearby stool. “You flirt with all the old and married women,” Dwight reprimanded sharply. “What’s wrong with you?”

“They’re easy, though.”

Dwight pulled a face.

“Not like that, you twat. I mean they aren’t difficult. I can sweet talk a woman when it doesn’t matter. Single ones, my age, I put them right off. That Lily person. . . .”

“Liat.”

“Whatever. Does it matter? They’ll trot her out the door too, so what’s the point?” He took a bite of his scones, but they seemed to have lost a bit of their appeal.

“She’s pretty, though.”

“Yeah.”

“You get to kiss her in scene five.”

“Really? Early on for that. I don’t usually snog them until halfway through. How do you know? Wasn’t in my pages.”

© 2015 Dellani Oakes

To Buy Dellani’s Books

One thought on “Something New – Part 3

Leave a Reply

