It’s NaNoWriMo Time!

Family Matters coverIt’s NaNoWriMo Time! I feel as if I should put that to Ta-ra-ra-boom-de-ay and sing it from rooftops. Since I’m not really very inclined to go climbing out on rooftops, perhaps I’ll refrain.

It is, however, NaNoWriMo Time. For those of you not familiar, that’s National Novel Writing Month. It began small, about 20 years ago, in the Bay Area of San Francisco. A group of friends got together and decided to devote the month of November to writing 50,000 word novels. And so the idea grew and spread. Now, NaNoWriMo is a world wide event with people from all walks of life, cultures, languages, participating in this event.

The rules are simple: start your novel November 1 and finish your 50,000 words by November 30. Well, it sounds simple, but it can be quite nerve wracking. Never fails, life will have its way and we get interrupted, confused or uninspired. It happens! The important thing is to keep going, keep trying and Never give up! Never surrender! ~ Captain Jason Nesmith of the Galaxy Quest.

I’ve been sitting on this idea for a NaNo novel for a couple of years. It never felt like the right time. However, my friend, Karen Vaughan, challenged me to write a murder mystery. Since I usually write romantic suspense, this didn’t feel like too big a stretch. However, after my first day of writing, it’s not shaping up quite that way. Sorry, Karen. It that might be left for another time. Still, early days yet. Who knows where it will go?

Since I’d been sitting on it for so long, I started writing as of midnight November 1. The time change gave me an extra hour to kill, so I spent it working on Family Matters, the name of my novel. I got in 5,491 words in those three hours. By the end of the day, about 11:30 PM Eastern time, I had clocked 17,243 words. I didn’t spend the entire day typing, but a good bit of it. As long as the ideas are flowing, I’m typing.

Keep in mind, my children are grown and able to feed, dress and bathe themselves. I don’t have pets or a job outside the home. I am able to devote as much time as I choose to writing. I could never have done this with a full time job and young children. All that said by way of explanation, I’m no way trying to diminish my accomplishment, nor am I trying to brag. I want it clear that everyone has their own pace and some of us type ridiculously fast—at least when the ideas are flowing. If they dam up, I’m screwed. It doesn’t matter how fast you type if the ideas aren’t there!

I will endeavor to update this post with my daily word counts. I might forget from time to time, but I will do my best.

Day      Word Count

1           17,243

2           26,004 (8,761 for the day)

3           33,597 (7,593)

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

© Dellani Oakes 2015

To Buy Dellani’s Books

3 thoughts on “It’s NaNoWriMo Time!

Leave a Reply

