For My Daughter on Her Birthday

We interrupt our regularly scheduled posts for a sentimental moment.

My mother, granddaughter and daughter in 2012

My mother, granddaughter and daughter in 2012

On this date, in 1982, I became a mother for the first time. My beautiful daughter, Kathryn, was born a few minutes before 4:00 in the afternoon. She had a set of lungs on her and screamed so loudly, my mother could hear her down the hall in the waiting room. I remember her saying, “That’s my grandchild.”

From the start, my daughter was a strong minded child. With a long line of stubborn, on both sides, that wasn’t too surprising. She continues to have that tenacious streak, but it has seen her through some tough times; going to college and working full time, getting two Bachelors degrees and her Masters, as well has having a child, she has done amazing things.

I would further embarrass her by telling things from her youth, but I’ll be kind and refrain. I simply want her, as well as everyone, to know that I am incredibly proud of her accomplishments and wish her a HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Happy Birthday, Kathryn Alayne. You’re my hero and when I grow up, I want to be just like you. 

I Love You, Mom

 

Look for Sea of Destiny here on Saturday, December 19, 2015.

3 thoughts on “For My Daughter on Her Birthday

Leave a Reply

